top of page

District Leadership Conferences

January 2024

The Iowa FBLA District Leadership Conference (DLC) is a one-day conference held each winter. The conference consists of general sessions, competitive events, workshops, awards, and other planned leadership and educational activities.


Wild Card Announcement

Iowa FBLA extends Wild Card entries to student entries that may have not qualified through the standard State Leadership Conference qualification process. 

Dates & Locations

Northeast Iowa Community College - Calmar, Iowa
Wilder Building
January 22, 2024
Snow Date: Jan 29 (virtual)

Denison High School
CANCELED: January 13, 2024
UPDATE - Merged with DLC 6

Waukee Innovation & Learning Center
January 27, 2024
Snow Date: Feb 3 (virtual)

George Washington High School
Cedar Rapids
CANCELED: January 15, 2024

Snow Date: Feb 3 (virtual)

Fairfield High School
CANCELED: January 13, 2024
UPDATED Snow Date: Jan 27

Missouri Valley High School
CANCELED: January 13, 2024
Snow Date: Jan 27

To find what district your chapter is in, please visit the Chapter and District list

2024 Important Dates

December 1 - Registration opens

December 20 - Registration deadline

December 21-31 - Registration adjustment window

January 1-7 - Objective testing window

January 7 - Prejudged materials due

January 22 - Payment due

Conference Registration Fees

Member Fee: $25

Volunteer Adult Fee: $10

Non-volunteer Adult Fee: $25


9:30 AM - Recommended arrival

10:00 AM - Opening session

3:00 PM - Closing/Awards session

3:30 PM - Departure

Important Conference Information

Qualifying Presentations Events

The top two (2) entries in each qualifying event from each District will advance to the State Leadership Conference. Any unfilled spots and at minimum three spots will be ‘wild card’ spots for students to advance to the state conference. For more information on the wild card process, please review the wild card section in the DLC guide. Members will follow the National FBLA Guidelines and Preliminary Rating Sheets. The member’s prejudged materials will be reviewed prior to and/or during their performance event. Events that start with ‘Introduction to...’ are open only to 9th and 10th grade student members.

The District Leadership Conference qualifying presentation events:

  • Broadcast Journalism

  • Business Ethics

  • Client Service

  • Coding & Programming

  • Computer Game & Simulation Programming

  • Data Analysis

  • Digital Animation

  • Digital Video Production

  • Graphic Design

  • Help Desk

  • Introduction to Business Presentation

  • Introduction to Public Speaking

  • Introduction to Social Media Strategy

  • Job Interview

  • Mobile Application Development

  • Public Service Announcement

  • Public Speaking

  • Sales Presentation

  • Social Media Strategies

  • Website Design

Prejudged Materials

Prejudged materials are submitted through the Asset Collection process in Blue Panda. To see what files are required to be uploaded, please log into Blue Panda and click on the ‘Action Items’ box.

Prejudged Materials Deadline: January 7

  • Business Ethics - Report (PDF)

  • Digital Animation - Video (URL)

  • Digital Video Production - Project (URL)

  • Job Interview - Cover Letter, Resume (PDF)

Online Objective Tests

Online objective tests will be taken prior to the District Leadership Conference at each local high school. This allows student members who are interested in competing at the district level to enter into a competitive event but not be required to attend the actual event on the day-of if their schedule does not allow. Students competing in only objective tests are still able to attend the conference (though not required) and take advantage of the networking opportunities, educational content, and participate in workshops during the in-person conference.

Online Testing Window & Time

  • January 1-7, 2024

  • 7:00AM - 7:00PM CT during testing window

All objective tests are non-qualifying events or ‘straight-to-state’ events. Any member competing in a non-qualifying objective test event, will be eligible to advance to the State Leadership Conference, if desired. Members in the top four (4) will be recognized during the District Leadership Conference’s Awards of Excellence Ceremony.

Prepare for Competitive Events

bottom of page